Christmas mix (7) – Un-Christmas songs, part two (NSFW)

I don’t know why it always takes me by surprise that these un-Christmas selections are a bit of a downer – the idea was to select the very best sad / cynical Christmas songs, after all. But the overall effect may be a bit miserable – if you’re not feeling completely robust, maybe try one of the other mixes.

Still, here’s the second lot – again, not safe for work unless you work in a very liberal, broad-minded office.

  1. TV Smith – Xmas Bloody Xmas
  2. The Long Blondes – Christmas is Cancelled
  3. The Just Joans – Card from a Multipack
  4. Tralala – Christmas Never Comes When You’re Alone
  5. The Pocket Gods – Wnking for Xmas
  6. Velodrome 2000 – Christmas Sucks
  7. Jessie Torrisi – I Lose a Little Bit of You
  8. The Vatican Cellars – Christmas Island
  9. HT and the OJs – Just Say No To Christmas
  10. Little My – Xmas Song
  11. [keyop] – (I’ll be) Dead by Christmas
  12. Ste McCabe – Christmastime for Sanctimonious Swine
  13. Ten Benson – Black Snow
  14. Rotifer – December 12 2021
  15. Viv Albertine – Home Sweet Home At Christmas
  16. Frankie Machine – I’m Going To Kill Myself For Xmas
3 comments

  1. Hey, hey. Nice mix, genuinely. A always-appreciated antidote to the usual saccharine Xmas songs.
    Slightly self-centred question, but where did you get my song “(I’ll be) dead by Christmas”? I came across this page as I was looking for it myself- I don’t have it on my laptop, and I don’t have a CD player…
    Merry crimbo,
    A

    1. Thanks! I still have my copy of the Purr EP it was on back in… 2001, was it? Heard it on Peel, ordered it by sending off a cheque, I think – seems like a different world now!

      1. “A different world” sums it up perfectly. I do wonder what’d have been like to organise singles/tours with everything available online, as it is now.
        Cheers!
        A

Leave a Reply

