The Show that Never Was

In May this year I recorded what was meant to be the first of my shows on the new online channel CUR25, an online “afterlife” for those of us who presented shows on Cambridge University Radio up to the mid-2000s (the station was 25 in 2004, so you see what we did there…). Unfortunately, although I was expecting the channel to launch in spring, it still hasn’t gone live for one reason or another – it may yet happen, and will be very cool if it does.

The trouble is, my show is now so out of date that I can’t really use it as my first CUR25 show if it ever does happen. So I’ve created my own Mixcloud channel, and put the show up just so it can be heard. The playlist was this:

  • The Broken Family Band – Living In Sin
  • MJ Hibbett and the Validators – We Are The Giant Robots
  • Sharon van Etten – Serpents
  • Kathryn Calder – Waking in my Sleep
  • Robert Ellis – Westbound Train
  • Dire Straits – Eastbound Train
  • The Wave Pictures – Sugar Maple Charcoal
  • Moustache of Insanity – Postcards to Strangers
  • Ambrosia Parsley – The Other Side
  • Sleeper – Statuesque
  • Alistair the Optimist – In the Wake
  • Cornshed Sisters – Dance At My Wedding

Click here to listen.

If you’re wondering about the out of date bits: firstly, all the ‘new’ records aren’t that new any more. But more specifically:

  • the Ambrosia Parsley album is indeed going ahead, and she’s launched a successful Pledgemusic campaign to fund it
  • Tim Ten Yen has retired from performing and recording under that name, though you can still find him on Twitter.

Actually, you may have noticed there’s no Tim Ten Yen track in the list. That’s because I missed an entire link out when editing it together – the show should also have included:

  • Tim Ten Yen – Something Sinister
  • Piney Gir – It’s Our Time

Only just noticed that. What a clot.

So, there you have it. I hope to do more “radio” one way or another, either on CUR25 or just on my own Mixcloud channel. So you may yet hear some more John Kell Vs Satan, or even the other shows I had planned – the Heartbreak Half Hour and Since You’ve Been John. If you want to know what they’re about, well… stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

