Escalating things

I was on the ground floor of a department store yesterday, and got on an escalator, going up. Immediately behind me, a woman got on who was talking into her mobile phone.

Even though we had barely moved upwards, she immediately said to the person she was talking to: “I’m upstairs now.”

Part of me wanted to turn round and say to her: “Do you think this is a teleport? It isn’t, and there’s a pretty bloody big clue why not. If it was a teleport, they’d have made you turn your mobile phone off, I’m pretty sure.”

A more substantial part of me thought it wasn’t worth the bother.

Leave a Reply

