Summer, it’s gone

If you think it’s been quiet around here lately, that’s because I’ve been posting mainly about political stuff, not least party conferences, and you can get that content over at The Common Weal.

Personally, I’ve got little to add other than my dismay at autumn sneaking up on us. This week I’ve had to have the kitchen light on to cook my tea for the first time in months. I don’t mind autumn itself but it’s a prelude to winter, and that can’t be a good thing.

Actually, I suppose I can add to that with a TV recommendation: you’re now probably too late to get into this, but ITV4 has been showing the excellent American series Jericho. It follows the fate of a small town after nuclear attacks wipe out most major American cities and the country descends into lawlessness – if you follow it through, it’s engrossing and rewarding. They have only half a dozen episodes left to show (it was cancelled after a truncated second series), so you may as well get it on DVD. Seriously – if you were drawn in by Battlestar Galactica, you’ll like this.

Talks are apparently ongoing with other networks to revive the show, but I’m not holding my breath.

Leave a Reply

